Personal databases and private notebooks (Private notebooks deprecated)¶
Attention
This behavior change is in the 2025_01 bundle.
For the current status of the bundle, refer to Bundle History.
Important
Private notebooks described in this announcement are no longer available. The following description is historical. Personal databases remain available. For their current capabilities, see Personal Databases.
This behavior change was originally introduced in the 2025_01 bundle and remained disabled in 2025_02 to give users additional evaluation time.
At that time, users could opt out by disabling the ENABLE_PERSONAL_DATABASE parameter. That opt-out is no longer available.
For the subsequent changes to Workspaces availability, see Deprecation of Legacy Worksheets and Dashboards.
When a user created a private notebook, a personal database and a schema named PUBLIC were created for the user. The personal database acted
as a dedicated workspace for creating, modifying, and managing private notebooks, which were accessible only to the individual user.
The following SHOW and DESCRIBE commands provided information about private notebooks, personal databases, and schemas
inside those personal databases:
- Before the change:
When a user created a notebook, it was owned by the user’s current role and viewable by any user with that role.
- After the change:
By default, notebooks were private and owned by the current user. When a private notebook was ready for production, a user could deploy it to a standard, non-personal database.
Ref: 1872